Farmhouse Fling

Can you go home again?

Attic Find April 27, 2010

Filed under: Uncategorized — diskam @ 3:22 pm

I found an old map case in the attic.  I assume it’s a relic from the schoolhouse across the way, but I don’t really know.  It seems a little old for that.  One of the posters is copywrited in 1904, and can only be described as ‘pro-prohibition’.

That seems a little strong, doesn’t it?  So does this:

I wonder what sort of fact checking they did in the early 1900’s.

I wonder if this is the 1904 equivalent of “This is your brain on drugs.”  Frankly, it’s more entertaining than it is frightening, but maybe the thought of appearing in public in a red undershirt was a deterrent in 1904.  It’s interesting that women are barely mentioned, this is clearly aimed at the men of the era.

 

One Response to “Attic Find”

  1. Darin Says:

    I am proud to say that I spend more on food than wine, barely. And, I have no idiot children, so far.


Leave a Reply

