Farmhouse Fling

Can you go home again?

December 9, 2009

Filed under: Uncategorized — diskam @ 1:41 pm

It’s 53 freaking degrees in this house right now.  Sure it could be icy and yucky and we could have 17 feet of snow, but still.  I had the thermostat set at 65, and the best the boiler could do was 53. 

The cold is bad, but it’s the wind that’s killing me.  There’s a wind advisory, and we’ve already had gusts of 55 mph.  The walk in garage door has already been entirely blown off the garage, not just off its hinges.  In fact, the hinges and the door frame they were attached to are also sitting in the yard.  I’m not surprised, I’m just thrilled nothing hit the car. 

It’s so windy that the warm gets sucked right out of the house.  The constant window rattling is starting to get on my nerves a little too.  We did more winterizing this year than last, but I think we could stand to do quite a bit more.

I’ve cranked up the thermostat to 80, we’ll see if that can make the temperature in here break 60.  In the meantime, I’ve set up the portable hearter, but I can just about see the money flying out the window when I run it for very long.  I’ve got on wool socks and a wool sweater, to the heck with allergies.  At this point, if I could find woolen dainties, I’d give them a try too.  I think it’s time to run the oven self cleaner.  That ought to heat things up too.

Don’t get me wrong, I’m happy to be here.  I know things could be a lot worse.  Still.  5 months to April.

 

Leave a Reply

