Farmhouse Fling

Can you go home again?

The stars are out August 10, 2008

Filed under: Uncategorized — diskam @ 10:29 pm

Tomorrow night I’m having a meteor shower party.  The height of activity is supposed to be around 1:30 am or so, and I doubt very very much if any of us make it that long.  It’s also supposed to be cloudy.  If it’s not cloudy, the moon may be too bright.  Apart from that, we ought to have a lovely, successful viewing.

I thought I’d go out tonight and play with camera settings.  I’ve seen some really awesome pictures from previous years, and thought it would be fun to try it out.  As soon as I stepped out on the porch, I saw a meteor shoot by.  It was unfortunately the only one I saw, and of course I didn’t get any shots of it.  Still, how cool is that?

I don’t have a cable release for the camera, and I was trying to be so careful not to jiggle the camera too much.  I did eventually realize that I was actually holding my breath and tiptoeing.  Apparently it’s important to sneak up on the camera in order to minimize movement.

 

Leave a Reply

