Farmhouse Fling

Can you go home again?

Prep work July 10, 2008

Filed under: Uncategorized — diskam @ 3:21 pm

I’ve been out to the house several times over the last few days.  Today I’m finally going to move a few things and start getting the dining room prepped to paint.

 

The red is a little too cranberry for me.  I’m going to paint over the stenciling too, although I feel very guilty doing so.  It obviously took a long long time to do and it’s very nice.  It’s just not really my taste.

So, I’m going to sand those down a bit, and put Killz over them and the red.  I also hope to scrape the windowsills a bit as the paint is really flaking there.  I’d like to get the room painted over the weekend, but I’m not sure how far we’ll get. 

I’d also like to get some of the wallpaper down in the master bedroom.  It’s peeling in a couple of places and needs to be removed on at least one wall before we paint in there.  I did pull up a corner of the carpet in the master bedroom to see what’s underneath.  It looks like painted hardwood.  I think after the wallpaper comes down, the carpet will come up.  I don’t think the floor is in great shape, but it’s certainly better than the carpet!

I think I’ll feel better once we start to actually get things ready.  I feel like we’ve been undecided for ages and it’s starting to frustrate me.  The kids would move into today if they could, but I really think we need to fix that pesky bare wire issue before we start sleeping there.

 

Leave a Reply

